Dunguaire Castle Galway
Dunguarie Castle was built in 1520 by the O’Hynes clan on the picturesque shores of Galway Bay.
Dunguarie Castle bridges 13 centuries of Irish history, from the skirmishes, battles and sieges that characterise its colourful past, through to the literary revival of the twentish century.
In 1924, Oliver St. Gogarty, surgeon, poet, author and wit, a contemporay and friend of W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory, acquired the Castle as a place of quiet retreat. This was the time of the great Celtic revival in Irish literature exemplified by the works of writers such as Synge, Yeats Shaw and O’Casey. It became the venue for meetings of the literary revivalists such as W.B. Yeats, his patron Lady Gregory, George Bernard Shaw, Edward Martin and J.M. Synge. Yeats in particular believed strongly in the Celtic Cardic Tradition and set about reviving the ancient oral customs incorporating them into his plays and poetry.
In 1954 the castle was acquired by Christobel Lady Amptill who completed the restoration started by Olive St Gogarty.
Subsequently the castle became the property of Shannon Development. Today the restored castle gives an insight into the lifestyle of the people who lived from 1520 to modern times.
Dunguaire Castle Banquets
At night the castle is the venue for the Dunguaire Castle Banquet, which operates Mid April – Mid October at 5.30pm & 8.45pm. (Reservations are necessary for the Castle Banquet).
From May to September from 9.30am – 5pm Dunguaire Castle is open daily for visitors to explore, reservations are not necessary to visit during the day.
April – October 2009
Child €5 (under 5 free)
Family Ticket (2 Adults+2 Children): €21.50 Family Ticket (2 Adults+up to 6 Children): €32.50
Group Rates available on request.